My Son, The Artist

My Son's Drawing On Our Seafoam Wall.

The other day I noticed pencil on the wall, how did my child get a pencil? I don’t know, I can only guess though simply because my desk, the kitchen table, and the counters always have some sort of art supplies on them. Mommy is an artist in her free time, sometimes it even brings in some extra coin, but mommy and daddy are both very artistic people.

 

I didn’t wash it off, in fact I’m looking at it right now and I can honestly say that I’m not mad. How can I be mad and say “don’t draw on the walls” when he sees mom do it, when mom has painted on the walls and has created a huge mural in his bedroom. I await the day that I find him finger-painting the house, what will mom say? Surely it will be “we don’t finger-paint the dog, or the carpet, but mommy will get you some canvas to finger-paint on.” I FEAR the day that he finds his mother’s stash of permanent markers and decides that he needs tattoo’s like his father… but how can I ever get angry with my son when being artistic is going to be something pretty much bred into him. He’s surrounded by it all the time, I want to teach him how to draw, paint, and nurture those abilities. How can I condemn something that I want to nurture? Obviously there will be a time and a place, but right now I’m going to sit back and take some photo’s of my son’s first piece of art before I scrub it off the wall.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

