One Of Those Days

Every mom has those days that go horribly wrong, those days where the “parent of the year award” seems to be slipping out of your hands and you feel like you’re the worst parent ever. Yesterday was one of those days, my boy is cutting teeth (molars to be exact) so he’s been in the most miserable mood EVER. He woke up screaming which if you’ve ever woken up to a banshee being tortured you know what its like, the pitched squeals and whines eat at your soul as you get out of bed and try to breathe and keep yourself calm and under control. I brought him downstairs, poured my coffee, poured his milk, gave him some cereal and sat down to compose myself… I guess I never quite got there.

Between having a child beat the heck out of my keyboard, install and uninstall my java program (playing with the computer mouse while I was doing dishes) I was at my wit’s end. I told him it was time to go upstairs and get dressed and ready for the day. (being out in public helps because I HAVE to keep my cool, some days I think parents take their screaming kids to the mall to keep from throttling them) I was dressed and ready, I went into his room where he was bashing on my piano keyboard (yes the one that he broke the key to so I gave to him, but we don’t talk about that *eye twitch*) I told him that we needed to change his diaper, he looked at me, screamed and ran away from me… right into the corner of the wall (nice one mom) upon contact he bounced back and landed on his butt screaming. So I took him downstairs to apply ice in which he screamed like I was murdering him, apparently he’d rather run into the wall multiple times than have ice applied.

Once he was calmed down I took him to Toys R Us, he needed a little boys potty with a lip on the front to prevent sprays. I figured I would do damage control and buy him one of those vibrating teethers for his poor gums… $60 later we were out of Toys R Us and my irritability had switched from child to the fact that I just dropped $60 on a piece of plastic and a teething ring. I then took him to his great grandparents which didn’t help me as my grandmother told me that I “had to watch him carefully” as I explained the bruise on his head. I explained to her that I can’t move the walls in my bloody house… whatever he was happy with loads of attention being showered upon him as the bad mom sat in the corner and played Texas Hold Em on her Blackberry.

My husband came home, I told him I didn’t feel like coming home after work and would send for him once I was settled in Mexico. (Har har) I went to work feeling happy to be out of the house, I was actually in a good mood until two jackasses cut me off nearly causing a major accident on the highway (buddy you should have merged 500 feet back, not rode in the bike lane trying to pass me you idiot.) At work my husband told me that our child was behaving perfectly, great! I felt horrible that I left the house in anger and was feeling calmed down and that the rest of the night could be preserved as peaceful. Yet the second I returned home, I called up the stairs “mommy is home” which set the trigger as my child came to the gate, looked at me and screamed at me in anger. “Welcome home mom!” I should have gone to Mexico.

Yesterday simply cannot be explained, apparently my child woke up and decided that mom is the reason gas prices have gone up, why global warming is killing the earth, and that I’m responsible for the death of every puppy and kitten out there. This morning was different, it was “mum mum” with a smile when he woke up, a child whom is now happy and loving his mother again, and a mother whom is now counting the new grey hairs thinking its time for a dye job.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Of Those Days

  1. Chantel says:

    LOL I have had many of those days! Yesterday it was my fault for everything including the rain outside, the fact that my children don’t have enough webkinz (I beg to disagree with that one) that school is soon to start, and a bunch of other things. I am sure at some point today It will be my fault for something once again:)

Leave a Reply

