The Art Bug Bit Me

I do love being a mom, my heart and soul pour into it and every night I can’t believe the little miracle which lays in his crib, the only thing that I’ve found that’s really been hard for me to adapt to are my abilities with time management with my child and my “projects.” I’m an INCREDIBLY artistic person, in fact I squealed with delight at the thought of decorating a nursery, not a simple blue wall but a hand painted mural of a kingdom which stretches to every wall in the nursery. I spent 8 months sketching and painting rolling hills, a palace, a beanstalk, and other little fantasy quips on the walls of the nursery. That was my outlet, I spent hours in there perfecting every little detail.

Bundle of joy came into the world and I could still doodle, sketch, paint and all he did was lie there watching his mommy work, I’d smile at him, rub his cheek, sing to him and everything was fantastic.

After the age of 11 months all that went down the shitter as my son was able to walk and terrorize the house. Paper became a sacred artifact of which he HAD to have and would end up shredding in the process of getting it into his hands. I found myself taking projects to work to do them because it got so bad.

Yet again the artistic bug has bitten me and I’ve taken up to working on canvasses painting away and prepping for an art show which I’m going to be featuring some stuff in. I learned earlier this week that I had sold some pieces from the last one which has me going even harder now, and so time management kicks in. When child is sleeping, playing by himself, or trapped in his high chair eating mom can work away at her projects. When child is out projects get placed HIGH above the possibility of my monkey getting his hands on them.

So if Vanity Mom is lacking in posts it’s because she is elsewhere for a few days trying to get as much of this out and into hard copy as she can while avoiding little boys fingerprints on her work.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Art, Time Management, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Art Bug Bit Me

Leave a Reply

