Hair Care Is Not So Hard

Ever since becoming a mother I’ve had a love hate relationship with my hair, many days I want to rip it out because I have a child throwing toys down the stairs, in the garbage, and into the black portal which shows up every few weeks and sucks things like socks, puzzle pieces, and favourite toys into it. My hair gets dirty now A LOT more now that I have a child who’ll cover his hands in yogurt and run them through mommy’s hair as she’s crouching down trying to wipe his face… I think the worse is the piggy back while he’s on my shoulders and decides my hair is awesome to lick and drool on. It was to the point that I was considering the dreaded ponytail (which some days would be an improvement over tangled and drooled on) at this point I started taking a little more time to take care of my hair.

 

It’s actually pretty easy to take care of (no way!) so here’s some quick and easy tips that I figured I’d share, sometimes it’s merely about changing up routine.

 

1) Don’t run a brush through wet hair (was guilty of this one) use a wide tooth comb, brushing it while its wet will only damage it because hair is at its weakest when its wet.

 

2) If your hair is feeling damaged and fried then invest in a hair mask/leave in conditioner. Pantene makes a wonderful conditioning mask which you leave him for a few minutes after shampooing. It leaves your hair feeling silky smooth for days.

 

3) Watch the product and the alcohol content in hairspray (as alcohol dries the hell out of hair)

 

4) Switch up shampoo’s and conditioners (after a while you get product build up which can leave it limp so every 2nd wash switch it up)

 

5) Apple Cider Vinegar (yes I know it smells sooooo gross to the point of gagging) but using diluted Apple Cider Vinegar in your hair works wonders for getting it clean and getting all the product out of it. What I do is put it in a spray bottle, plug my nose (or run a really good smelling bath) and spray it to the point of soaking, I then clip it up and let it sit for a bit. Take your time in washing it out afterwards unless you want to smell like a salt and vinegar chip, afterwards your hair will thank you.

 

6) And remember, you need to be healthy on the inside to show it on the outside, lots of water, vitamin E and B6 and of course A and C (so eat your veggies mama) and remember to stay hydrated which will help out with the shine and keeping it moisturized.

 

And mommy, when it comes to putting your hair in a ponytail make sure you use elastics that don’t cut and rip the heck out of your hair, personally I prefer a tooth clip, but that’s just me 😉

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

