Damn Cats

Are you a mom with a cat (or cats) that you once loved but suddenly after children all you want to do is punt them out the door for good? I know SOOOO many women whom were cat lovers until they had kids and now swear that they will never allow another feline in their home again.

Before I became pregnant I LOVED my cat, he was big and dumb and had a real complex about being in love with me. He hated everyone else to the point my husband swore up and down one day the cat would murder him in his sleep and take his place. This cat was a 25lb Bengal x Siamese with an attitude as big as he was… we had another cat (my husbands cat) which was the eppiphany of needy, this cat never shut up and yet we were fine with giving it love and attention because compared to MY cat it was the good cat.

I ended up getting pregnant and as I progressed my cat started having MORE of a complex, he had to be beside me at ALL times, I’d be having a hot flash on the couch and he’d come up and literally rape my side and hang on to the couch for dear life as I tried to push him off. The other one started becoming so vocal that there were days I just wanted to have its friggan voice box removed.

When our son was born and I was in the hospital for three days my husband came everyday to tell me stories about my cat becoming more of a moron, he sat by the stairs and would hiss at him all day because in his mind my husband murdered me and I wasn’t coming home… he was the one to blame for my absence.

Bringing home the baby the cats suddenly got no attention but as we adjusted we allowed them back into our life for pets and love once the baby was in bed. This is where the love and tolerance for the cats because hatred and annoyance, apparently that wasn’t enough for the damn cats because I can’t count the number of times I nearly ended up flying down the stairs (child in hand) because they were under feet. The vocal one would HOWL at the crack of dawn for food and scratch at the door, my cat became the most hateful SOB on the planet.

As my boy grew my cat became manic-depressive and didn’t want to be part of the family… it was like having an emo teenager living in the house but a lot furrier. My husbands cat decided to use our son as its personal toy (attempted battering ram, scratching post, punching bag) Every week there was something new with the damn cats and another problem that we tried to fix. I moved the cat bowl so our son would never be near it and be near the food (hence making him a villain on enemy grounds) and so I could feed them before trying to get downstairs. We moved the cat box so they would have their own private place to do their business… we SOFT PAWED them ( caps over their nails) but to no avail my son ended up with more scratches and it was time to make the choice of getting rid of the cats.

It’s amazing how things can change when you have animals that you love dearly and suddenly something more takes their place. Indeed there is guilt for getting rid of animals that I was responsible for that I could no longer take care of but the truth in motherhood is once you have that little person in your life they come first and the love of everything else (even the damn cats) is put on the back-burner and your child has to come first. I am now one of those people who swears that I will never own a cat again… my child can have a dog (or reptile of choice) when it comes time for him to want a pet.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

