Kids Toys

There are so many joys in buying your child a toy, I love it when he’s happily playing with something and being entertained. I love the smiles and giggles when something new catches his attention and when he’s in awe of something that seems so out of this world…but some days it seems like he’ll never have enough toys to keep his attention as he’d rather hit a pot with a wooden spoon or run around the house chasing the stupid cat.

Yes there are toys that he does love with all his heart, of course those are the toys that drive his parents up the wall… my little guy has this Fisher Price singing dog which is just annoying to the point where his father and I have dibs on who will light this thing on fire and sacrifice it when he eventually gets too old for it. So far there are a few toys like that, ones that magically go off in the middle of the night and my husband and I curse under our breath (while holding it) to see if it’ll wake the beast from its slumber, or the ones that sing the exact same songs over and over again to the point where you find yourself humming the tune at work. I’ve also found myself talking to my child’s toys, Chuck in particular (who’s a dump truck) whom I tell him many times very loudly to “stay there” when I put him on the shelf as he likes to drive off it and when I turn the thing off that’s the EXACT moment my child wants to play with him and will get beyond pissy because Chuck isn’t talking to him.

Of course nothing will match the magic of mom’s computer when there’s a document or message of importance popped up on the screen, how fun is it to run over the smash the hell out of the keyboard then? Or the garbage can which is great for either throwing all his other toys inside or carrying it around while littering the floor with toilet paper. The toilet is another great toy as it flushes and when you open the lid the water swirls and he can splash in it as it goes down the drain (hence why the toilets now have 25lb weights on them since he’s crafty enough to UNLOCK them… nothing like pumping iron while using the facilities)

The latest and greatest thing is taking toys and throwing them down the stairs to see how far they will go and how loud they’ll crash when they hit the wall… all while standing at the gate.

So why do we buy our kids toys? Why do we look for the latest and greatest (supposedly educational) with all the lights and noise that we can find? So our child looks loved? So we can say we’re good parents? Some days I think its merely so I can spend more time cleaning and putting them back on shelves while seeing which button will do what (all while my kid plays with a straw and finds it bendiness fascinating)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

