I’m Not A Morning Person

In the many years of being with my husband something within me changed, I went from being one of those miss Mary freaking sunshine in the morning to absolutely LOATHING mornings. Before I used to bounce out of bed before my alarm clock with a smile upon my face and get ready quickly and have enough time to sit at my computer before work happily eating breakfast as I read the news. After being with a morning hater for so many years I found myself wanting those extra ten minutes, scowling at the alarm clock and saying screw it to anything healthy for breakfast and just grabbing a granola bar.

With being a mom mornings are an important thing, they can set the mark for the rest of the day. This morning in particular was a morning that got some extra grumbles, after fighting our son to go to bed after a very productive day (park, playing with dad all day, going to see grandpa and mom at work, going for a nice long walk and just plain old being played out) he didn’t want to go to sleep. A little after an hour later hubby and sat on the couch with the “what the hell were we thinking look” which was quickly distinguished when we checked on him again once he fell asleep to the “omg we’re stupid and crazy and want to do this again” look. I was ready to sleep in today until at least 8:30, Dad left for work this morning at 5am and the child decided to wake up. After refusing anything to drink and changing his diaper his ass was put back to bed where he played with his mobile for an hour. I figured to myself 8:30 was definitely in the works and drifted off. I awoke to the blood curdling scream at 7:30, like the scream that says Freddie Krueger is about to slash the shit out of me. There my kid is bouncing up and down in his crib wanting “up.” Ugh now that I’ve confirmed that there’s no serial killer in the room mom MUST go to the bathroom, after that I quickly feed the two cats because God forbid I do anything in peace until those two morons are fed. I then go back to the nursery and grab my child and go downstairs as FAST as I can and stick a bottle in his mouth so I don’t have to hear anymore noise… I find that ear-splitting screaming first thing in the morning is comparable to having a heat attack.

I’m sure I’m not the ONLY mom out there that hates mornings with a passion, whom swear a little when their child is awake before the supposed ‘up” time. I usually don’t make breakfast for an hour or so after being up but I always have a bottle or a drink ready and give my little guy a Tupperware container of a baggy of cereal, crackers, or berries. That gives him enough time to sit on his little couch, play, eat and give mom some time to become human and wake from that zombie like state. This way I’m less likely to get upset with feel overwhelmed with things and a morning that was off to a bad start can be saved with a good cup of black coffee, and a granola bar… and help when you have to clean up all the cereal that WAS in the container that’s NOW on the floor.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not A Morning Person

  1. LOL! I dread mornings BIG TIME!! I have managed to have a few children who sleep in past 8am but currently my 6 month old twins find it really amusing to scream together at 6:30am (WTF Time is that to be awake!??) Now when they scream it is like something in stereo and I do exactly as you do – shove the bottles in their mouthes to shut them up! ha, ha glad it isn’t just me out there as well…..

    • vanitymom says:

      I would ever so much love to be a chipper person who rises with the sun again and actually be awake in the am but I don’t know what happened >_< … a child I guess.

Leave a Reply

