10 Year Old Model

Okay, there has been so much going around about this that I simply have to put in my two cents. It is wrong for a ten-year old to be made up and posing in such a way but c’mon America, you’re the one pushing your daughters into this. What do you expect with shows like Toddlers and Tiara’s where little girls are done up with extensions, make-up, put in bathing suits and told to walk the runway? What do you expect when suddenly little girls are allowed to dress in things I wouldn’t allow my 16-year-old to wear?So before we start pointing the finger at the parents we need to point the finger at ourselves and at the media, because we’re allowing it to be aired on tv, we’re allowing little girls to act like their teenagers, and yet we only bitch when it’s in hard copy in a magazine? Really?

I have been there and all I can say is if I have a daughter I swear on my mother’s grave that I would not introduce her to the life of modelling until she was a teenager IF she so chose to be involved in that kind of world. Let kids be kids and stop pushing them into the bullshit that adults need to worry about, why are there children out there who are ten with complexes about looks? Because we’re the ones pushing them on our youth. There’s a difference between letting your 10-year-old dress up like a Disney princess and letting her dress up as a Vogue goddess who looks to be in her 20’s, its everyone’s fault.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Year Old Model

  1. How true! What is the world coming to when it is acceptable for little girls to dress up and act like this – it is crazy. My daughter does acting but never in my life would I allow or accept this. Fake teeth? Jeez, that is crazy!

Leave a Reply

